Youth Legislature

Closing Session

Vetoed Legislation

Governor Olivia Mack

Passed Legislation

Governor Olivia Mack

- HB 61: Banning Corporal Punishment
 - Sponsor: Arun Cacodcar
 - School: Episcopal School of Acadiana

- HB 58: Cats for the Incarcerated
 - Sponsor: Grace Dube
 - School: St. Joseph's Academy

- HB 43: Allow Trans, Intersex, Gender Non-Conforming, and Non-binary People To Be Housed in a Prison 6 Best Suited for the Individual
 - Sponsor: Ryleigh Shullaw & Madison Bui
 - School: Lafayette High School

- HB 89: Ban Solitary Confinement in Louisiana
 - Sponsor: Sophia Edwards
 - School: St. Joseph's Academy

- HB 17: Different Streams of Revenue to Fund Public School
 - Sponsor: Kathy Hu & Sophia Horridge
 - School: Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

- HB 55: Limiting Qualified Immunity
 - Sponsor: Andi Hayes & Hannah Champagne
 - School: St. Joseph's Academy

- HB 85: Combatting Gerrymandering with Ranked-Choice
 Voting in Louisiana's US House of Representatives 6 Elections
 - Sponsor: Carter McLean
 - School: Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

- HB 27: Amending the Sex Offender Registry
 - Sponsor: Kaci Cook
 - School: Haynes Academy

- HB 39 : Sex Ed for Dummies
 - Sponsor: Julie Russell & Holden Schneider
 - School: Woodlawn High School

- HB 54: Make possession of small amounts of drugs and drug paraphernalia a non-criminal violation or 6 misdemeanor
 - Sponsor: Kearra Grisby & Kali Baker
 - School: St. Joseph's Academy

- HB 16: Yacht Anti-Hoarding Obligatory Ordinance (YAHOO!)
 - Sponsor: 3 Spencer McNeely
 - School: Episcopal School of Acadiana

- HB 57: Protect Louisiana Youth from Systemic Abuse
 - Sponsor: Jemma Wood & Amelia Brooks
 - School: Saint Joseph's Academy

- HB 48: To require a Proactive Renter Inspection (PRI)
 program to be implemented across the state of 6 Louisiana
 - Sponsor: Cemaje' Barnes
 - School: Neviile High School

- HB 66: Jobs for Felons
 - Sponsor: Taylor Albert & Tatiana Butler
 - School: Woodlawn High School

 HB 42: The Ranked Choice Voting for Louisiana State and Local Elections Act

- Sponsor: Keller Roberson
- School: Central High School

- HB 65: The Louisiana New Teacher Incentive Program
 - Sponsor: Donald Scully
 - School: Catholic High School

 HB 78: End Law Enforcement Cooperation with Immigration Authorities

- Sponsor: Gabriel Juarez
- School: Lafayette High School

- HB 5: Abolish the Louisiana Death Penalty
 - Sponsor: Justina Vo & Zoha Ibrahim
 - School: Caddo Magnet High School

- SB 31 : State-Wide Decriminalization of Marijana
 - Sponsor: Natalie Cockrell
 - School: Caddo Magnet High School

- SB 41: Implement a Tax on Corporations regarding Biodegradable Plastics
 - Sponsor: Ivana Guidry
 - School: Mandeville High School

- SB 30 : An act to legally recognize all Louisiana Native American tribes statewide
 - Sponsor: Amanda Hux & Ibrahim Alam
 - School: Lafayette High School

- SB 34: Allow More People to Consider Surrogacy
 - Sponsor: Brinley Pethe
 - School: Haynes Academy

- SB 6: Democratizing Louisiana Workplaces
 - Sponsor: Koen Roberson
 - School: Central High School

- SB 37: "But No One Wears a Crown": Capping Wealth in Louisiana
 - Sponsor: Sania Islam & Jack West
 - School: Haynes Academy

SB 32: Universal screenings for early childhood learning disabilities

- Sponsor: Eddie Maxwell
- School: Central High School

- SB 1: Standing in Solidarity against Solitary
 - Sponsor: Brendan Parenti
 - School: Woodlawn High School

- SB 29: Breaking Code Silence: Ending the Troubled Teen Industry in Louisiana
 - Sponsor: Margaret Moe & Alexis Harvey
 - School: St. Joseph's Academy

- SB 9: Terminating a State of Disaster or Emergency
 - Sponsor: Thomas O'Connor
 - School: Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

- SB 23: Provide Necessary HIV Services to Jails and Prisons
 - Sponsor: Sela Alwood & Havilland Forbes
 - School: St Joseph's Academy

- SB 7: Add "X" gender markers on Driver Licenses and State IDs
 - Sponsor: Emily Berg & Ruby Friloux
 - School: Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

State of the State

Governor Olivia Mack

Supreme Court Rulings

Chief Justice Maggie Lai

 SB 30: An act to legally recognize all Louisiana Native American tribes statewide

- Sponsor: Amanda Hux & Ibrahim Alam
- School: Lafayette High School

Ruling: Constitutional

- HB 1: Choice for Abortion
 - Sponsor: Shreya Kamath & Sarah Theriot
 - School: Episcopal High School

Ruling: Unconstitutional

HB 38: What is an Essential Service?

Sponsor: Kaenan Maruqette

School: Lakeshore High School

Ruling: Unconstitutional

Awards

Outstanding Delegate

Supreme Court Delegate

 Ryan Wilkinson, Caddo Magnet High School

Outstanding Delegate

House Gold

 Unmesh Chakravarty, Haynes Academy

Outstanding Bill

House Gold

- HB # 27
- Title: Amending the Sex Offender Registry
- Sponsor: Kaci Cook
- School: Haynes Academy

Outstanding Delegate

House Navy

 Gabriel Juarez , Lafayette High School

Outstanding Bill

House Navy

- HB # 65
- Title: The Louisiana New Teacher Incentive Program
- Sponsor: Donald Scully
- School: Catholic High School

Outstanding Delegate

House Silver

 Anil Cacodcar, Episcopal School of Acadiana

Outstanding Bill

House Silver

- HB # 89
- Title: Ban Solitary Confinement in Louisiana
- Sponsors: Sophia Edwards
- School: St. Joseph's Academy

Outstanding Delegate

Senate Gold

Sania Islam, Haynes Academy

Outstanding Bill

Senate Gold

- SB # 37
- Title: "But No One Wears a Crown": Capping Wealth in Louisiana
- Sponsors: Sania Islam & Jack West
- School: Haynes Academy

Outstanding Delegate

Senate Navy

 Thomas O'Connor, Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

Outstanding Bill

Senate Navy

- SB # 29
- Title: Breaking Code Silence: Ending the Troubled Teen Industry in Louisiana
- Sponsors: Margaret Moe & Alexis Harvey
- School: St. Joseph's Academy

2nd Annual LEG Talent Show Award

Best Talent Award

Siyeon Joo, Episcopal of Acadiana

Closing Remarks

Isha Matta

61st LEG State Officers

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

Ryan Wyche, Woodlawn

Secretary of State

Kavia Mallik, Haynes Academy

House Floor Leader

Caroline Roussel, St. Joseph's Academy

House Floor Leader

Riley Gulino, Haynes Academy

House Floor Leader

Landri Domingue, Dutchtown

Speaker Pro Tempore

Grace Dube, St. Joseph's Academy

Speaker Pro Tempore

Carter McLean, Episcopal Baton Rouge

Speaker of the House

Lily Coats, Haynes Academy

Senate Floor Leader

Alissa Julien, Haynes Academy

Senate Floor Leader

Brinley Pethe, Haynes Academy

President Pro Tempore

Kaylen Davis, Archbishop Hannan

President of the Senate

Emma Bonney, St. Joseph's Academy

Governor

Maria Hargrave, St. Joseph's Academy

Youth Legislature

Closing Session